Loyalty Countdown #3 – Know Your Loyalty Stages & Ensure Your Customers Are Moving Through Them

A customer becomes loyal to a company and its products and service on step at a time. By understanding the customer’s current loyalty stage, you can better determine what’s necessary to move that customer to the next level of loyalty. Our “Growing Loyal Customers” system comprises six stages: suspect, prospect, first-time customer, repeat customer, client and advocate. If your customer relationship processes and programs aren’t moving customers forward, rethink them.

Action Step: Using the customer loyalty stages, define loyalty for your customers (what distinguishes a repeat customer from a client in your particular business?) Use the customer data you collect through your loyalty program to rank your customers according to lifetime value; we’ll talk more about creating these lists on our Loyalty Countdown #2 post. Beginning with your highest-ranking customers, identify which loyalty stage each customer is in. Next, create a customer action plan for moving that customer to the next higher level of loyalty.

Source: Griffin, Jill. Customer Loyalty: How To Earn It How To Keep It. 2002.

More Loyalty Countdown:

#12 – Store Your Data In One Centralized Database
#11 – Collaborate With Your Channel Partners
#10 – Give Your Front Line the Skills to Perform
#9 – Use Multiple Channels to Serve the Same Customers Well
#8 – Win Back Lost Customers
#7 – Know Your Customer’s Definition of Value
#6 – Get Responsive & Stay That Way
#5 – Aggressively Seek Out Customer Complaints
#4 – Serve First; Sell Second
#3 – Know Your Loyalty Stages & Ensure Your Customers Are Moving Through Them
#2 – Practice the 80/20 Rule
#1 – Build Staff Loyalty

Email This Post  

Leave a comment

MediaTrac In The News


  • collapse2018
  • expand2017
  • expand2016
  • expand2015
  • expand2014
  • expand2013
  • expand2012
  • expand2011